Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Mylyn works with Google Code

I just updated my copy of mylyn to the current version and I was happy to find that it now works easily with Google Code. In order to set it up, all you have to do is add a repository for the Google Code issue page. The easiest way to do this is to select the sample server entry for Google Code when adding the repository. All the necessary fields are filled in for you to make it work. Generally all you have to do is change the url is puts in the server field to point to your specific application. You don't get the fancy edit page that you would with something like Jira, but it will pull up the appropriate web page in eclipse's web browser. Pretty cool.

Also, if you hate that mylyn removes a file from context when you close it, there is a new check box in the settings that allow you to change that behavior.

Mylyn tends to be a little buggy out of the gate, but it eventually starts working as it should for me. Sometimes I have to move around the interface a few times to get things rolling after an update.

2 comments:

  1. I really like the idea of Mylyn and have installed it recently, but I really need some tutorials/video to better understand the work flow related to JIRA. Do you know of any tutorials or videos around I should be looking at?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I don't know of anything specifically for jira, but I thought it was pretty straight forward. After you have set up mylyn to connect to your jira server, you run a query against your issues just like you would with the web interface.

    Once you have an issue in eclipse you want to work on, double click it to see it in your editor. Click on the little purple dot to activate it. This is how you nomally work with mylyn. As you open (and close, depending on your settings), you can see the context of the issue build. Once the bulk of your context exists, you can turn on the filter in the project explored and watch a lot of clutter vanish.

    Now, when you deactivate the issue, your workspace will return to normal. If you deactivate it, you will return to the context as you left it. There is a bit more,but that's the basics in a nutshell.

    ReplyDelete